Coyote hunting and trapping seasons are available statewide. … If problems exist outside regular hunting or trapping seasons, coyotes can be killed without a license on private land by the landowner or a designee if the coyote is doing or about to do damage to private property, pets, livestock, or humans.
What time of year can you shoot coyotes in Michigan?
The state’s Natural Resource Commission has now approved year-round hunting of coyotes, where the season was previously only from mid-April to mid-July. The approvals of these revisions came at an April 14th meeting in Lansing.
What caliber is legal to hunt coyotes in Michigan?
As for rules on equipment, Centerfire rifles may be used to hunt coyotes during regular daytime hunting hours statewide. Centerfire rifles or pistols . 269 caliber or smaller are allowed to be used at night.
Do you have to have a license to shoot a coyote in Michigan?
Michigan residents need a valid base license to hunt coyotes, and out-of-state residents must have a valid base license and a fur harvester license. … Coyotes and raccoons may be killed all year on private property by a property owner or designee when the animals are causing or about to do damage to private property.
Can you shoot raccoons in Michigan at night?
Current Nighttime Raccoon, Opossum, Fox, and Coyote Hunting Regulations Currently, Michigan allows for the nighttime take of raccoon, opossum, fox, and coyote. … Hunters using the aid of dogs may only have a firearm, crossbow or bow and arrow loaded at the point of kill.
Can I use my buck tag for a doe in Michigan?
New 2020 Deer Regulations in Michigan Gives Hunters across the State more Opportunity. … In the Lower Peninsula, hunters will be allowed to use any valid deer license or private land combination tag to take an antlerless deer during the early and late antlerless firearm seasons.
Is there a limit on coyotes?
Is there a bag limit for coyotes in California? No limit.
Do you have to wear orange while coyote hunting in Michigan?
Hunter Orange Clothing Requirements in Michigan: A person shall not take game during the established daylight shooting hours from August 15 through April 30 unless the person wears a cap, hat, vest, jacket, or rain gear of hunter orange.
What is the fine for baiting deer in Michigan?
Unlawful baiting is currently a misdemeanor offense subject to fines, up to 90 days in jail and the possible loss of a hunting license. Under Senate Bill 800, violators would be subject to a state civil fine of $1.
Is it legal to kill chipmunks in Michigan?
Chipmunks are not protected by federal law, but state and local regulations may apply. Most states allow landowners or tenants to take chipmunks when they are causing or about to cause damage. Some states, (for example, Georgia, North Carolina and Arkansas) require a permit to kill nongame animals.
Can I shoot raccoons in Michigan?
Coyotes, raccoons, skunks and woodchuck are not protected and can be taken year-round when they are doing or about to do damage on private property. Opossum, porcupine, weasel, red squirrel, ground squirrel and feral swine can also be taken year-round with a valid Michigan hunting license.