|Species||Season Dates||Possession Limits|
|Ducks||Sept 26 to Nov 22 Nov 28 to Jan 29||3 times daily bag limit|
|Mergansers||Sept 26 to Nov 22 Nov 28 to Jan 29||3 times daily bag limit|
|Coots||Sept 26 to Nov 22 Nov 28 to Jan 29||45|
|EARLY SEASON: Canada Geese||Sept 1 to Sept 10||15|
Is it duck hunting season in Michigan?
In Michigan, there are many different duck hunting seasons. In the U.P., the duck season is Sept. 26 to Nov. 22 along with Nov.
Where can you duck hunt in Michigan?
They include: Nayanquing Point, Fish Point, Shiawassee River, Harsens Island, Pointe Mouillee, Muskegon County Wastewater and Fennville Farm Unit. To hunt migratory waterfowl in Michigan, hunters age 16 and up need a base license, a waterfowl license and a Federal Migratory Bird Hunting Stamp.
Can you duck hunt public lakes in Michigan?
Yes, if it is Public Land, is open to hunting and borders the water you can hunt in that part of the lake.
When can you start hunting in Michigan?
AGE AND SUPERVISION REQUIREMENTS
There are no minimum age restrictions who youth hunters in Michigan, however there are mentored youth programs available for hunters who are 9 years of age and younger, and who are 10 years of age or older.
Can you shoot ducks on the water in Michigan?
It is legal to shoot a duck on the water, though his vitals (other then his head) ride mostly under water. Its a moral question, not a legal one. Up to each person to decide.
How many ducks can you shoot in Michigan?
The daily bag limit is six teal, and the possession limit is 18 teal.
How much is a waterfowl license in Michigan?
In addition to a base license, all waterfowl hunters age 16 and older are required to purchase a Michigan waterfowl hunting license ($12) and a Federal Migratory Bird Hunting Stamp* ($25).
What can you hunt right now in Michigan?
Opossum, porcupine, weasel, red squirrel, skunk, ground squirrel, woodchuck, Russian boar, feral pigeons, starling and house sparrows may be taken year-round with a valid Michigan hunting license.
Is it illegal to feed ducks in Michigan?
There is no law against feeding waterfowl. If non-hunters are feeding ducks in a hunting area to eliminate hunting they can be cited for littering.
Are mallard ducks protected in Michigan?
Migratory birds, their nests and their eggs are protected by the federal Migratory Bird Treaty Act and must be left alone. Unless you have a license, taking a baby bird or eggs from the wild is breaking the law. … Unless a person is licensed, it is illegal to possess a live wild animal, including birds, in Michigan.
Can you hunt grebes in Michigan?
Re: Illegal duck Grebe
I have to ask because unless I overlooked it in the MI waterfowl hunting guide there is no section giving the waterfowl we can not harvest, like grebes.
What counties in Michigan have antler restrictions?
A group in the Thumb area of Michigan has proposed implementing mandatory antler point restrictions in Tuscola, Huron, Sanilac, Lapeer and St. Clair counties.
Do you need hunters safety after 18 in Michigan?
All first-time hunters born on or after Jan. 1, 1960 are required to take and pass a hunter safety course. … Operators under age 16 riding on public or private land in Michigan must take an approved ORV education course, carry an ORV safety certificate and have direct visual supervision of an adult.
Can you bait deer in Michigan in 2021?
Baiting and recreational feeding of deer remains illegal throughout the Lower Peninsula and the Core CWD Area in the Upper Peninsula. The ban is in place to lower the risk of the spread of chronic wasting disease and bovine tuberculosis, according to the DNR.