In general, anyone who hunts wild birds or animals in Maine needs a hunting license. … Junior and Adult Hunters: Hunters under age 16 must possess a junior license, and those 16 and up need an adult license.
Do you need a permit to hunt deer in Maine?
Maine’s antlerless deer (firearms) hunt is a “permit only” hunt. See Any-Deer Permits or contact the Department at (207) 287-8000 for more information.
What do you need to hunt deer in Maine?
Licenses: You must have an archery license to hunt during the regular and expanded archery deer seasons, or hunt with a bow and arrow in general. Permits: In addition to an archery license, hunters participating in the expanded archery deer season (designated areas only) must also purchase permits.
How do I get a hunting license in Maine?
How Do I Get My State Hunting License?
- Complete the Maine hunter education certification requirements.
- Choose the correct license type.
- Buy the license through the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife website or a Maine–approved agent.
How much is a deer tag in Maine?
Pay a fee of $5.00 to register a bear, deer or moose (of which $2 is retained by the agent and $1 is dedicated to a Deer Habitat Enhancement Fund) or $2.00 to register a wild turkey, (harvested in the spring only) all of which is retained by the agent.
Can you hunt on Sunday in Maine?
Sunday Hunting is Illegal in Maine.
How many deer can you kill in Maine?
1. Limit on deer and bear. It is unlawful to take or possess more than one deer or more than one bear in any calendar year. 2.
Do you need a hunting license to hunt on your own land in Maine?
Landowner Privilege: Maine resident landowners and their immediate family members may hunt without a license using firearms, archery, crossbow or muzzleloader on land they own and reside upon, provided the land exceeds 10 acres in size and is used exclusively for agricultural purposes.
Is it legal to kill squirrels in Maine?
For sustainable meat aficionados who are not ready to hunt for deer or moose, one way to get into wild game meat in Maine is by hunting and preparing squirrels to eat. … To hunt squirrels of any kind, you will need a hunting license.
Can I shoot a coyote on my property in Maine?
Yes. What firearms are approved/disapproved for coyotes in Maine? Wild animals and wild birds may be hunted only by the use of firearms (not larger than 10-gauge), hand-held bow and arrow, crossbow or by falconry. Deer and moose decoys are legal; laser sights (red dots or beam) for firearms and bows are legal.
What hunting season is it in Maine right now?
For more information about legal hunting in specific areas of Maine, visit the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife website. **Season dates vary by zone. Moose hunting is restricted to permit holders and only one moose may be taken per year.
Maine Wild Turkey Seasons.
|Fall||Sept. 14-Nov. 7|
|Spring Youth||May 1|
Can a felon bow hunt in Maine?
Convicted felons, who cannot hunt with firearms, may hunt with a crossbow if they have taken and successfully completed all of the required courses above. … Even if you were only bow hunting deer during the November firearms season, you still must hold an archery licenses as well as a big-game license.
Do you have to tag a fox in Maine?
The skins of all beaver, bobcat, coyote, fisher, fox, marten, mink and otter must be tagged within 10 days after the end of the season on each species.
Do I have to tag a turkey in Maine?
New Law 2021: Wild turkey harvested in the fall season ONLY do not need to be registered or have a label attached for transport. All wild turkeys harvested in the spring season must still be registered and have a label attached for transport.